Reload this Page >

marriage on a visa waiver

marriage on a visa waiver

Old Jan 6th 2003, 3:23 pm
Just Joined

bstes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default marriage on a visa waiver

Hi,

I think I have discovered that you can marry on a visa waiver in the united states.
I also read something about tourist adjustment, so when i enter the us, and if we marry while i'm there....and i file for status adjustment...do i still need to leave the country after the 90 days my visa waiver grants me if the status adjustment isn't approved yet...or can i just stay in the us.
Or do i still have to apply for a spouse visa and if so do i need to leave the country again or not?

Sorry for all the questions, but i'm really new to all of this.

Bart Stes,
madly in love with a US citizen
Old Jan 6th 2003, 3:28 pm
Just Joined

Muki is an unknown quantity at this point

I first came on a visa waiver and when I wanted to stay was advised that an AOS could not be done. I had to either stay illegally , then the AOS could be filed or return home.
Old Jan 6th 2003, 4:15 pm
Son 5 & Daughter 2 1/2

Pete F is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: marriage on a visa waiver

Originally posted by bstes
Hi,

I think I have discovered that you can marry on a visa waiver in the united states.
I also read something about tourist adjustment, so when i enter the us, and if we marry while i'm there....and i file for status adjustment...do i still need to leave the country after the 90 days my visa waiver grants me if the status adjustment isn't approved yet...or can i just stay in the us.
Or do i still have to apply for a spouse visa and if so do i need to leave the country again or not?

Bart Stes,

Bart.. Rete gave you GOOD advice in your previous post..