Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

K1 application - old conviction and some other q's

K1 application - old conviction and some other q's

Old Aug 23rd 2016, 1:24 am
Forum Regular

Whymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond reputeWhymewhyme has a reputation beyond repute
Default K1 application - old conviction and some other q's

Hi guys,

I am going to be applying for the K1. I have a fiance in the USA and I am a UK resident. We have known each other for 5 years now and have spent many months together, in Canada and the UK.

I have some questions, if you don't mind me asking:

1. I have been denied a B2 Tourist visa before (in 2009) and multiple ESTA's thereafter, haven't bothered applying for ESTA in the last 8 months. Never broke any laws or overstayed, the denial I guess was based on loose ties to the UK and admitting I had a gf there (now ex) / interviewer woke up on wrong side of the bed.

- Could that denial affect the K1?

2. I was arrested and had to go to court to pay a fine for shoplifting some clothes to the tune of £120 value when I was 17/18. I am 37 now, so 19/20 years ago. I have never declared it on any esta or visa application.

- Is that a problem? If so, what would you advise I do?

3. My fiance makes about 16k USD a year, but I have 135k USD in savings.

- Does she need to sponsor me, or do I not need it since I have those savings?

Thanks guys..
Old Aug 23rd 2016, 1:50 am