Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

I (UKC) and my wife (USC) are planning a US move - Missing anything?

I (UKC) and my wife (USC) are planning a US move - Missing anything?

Old Dec 28th 2018, 8:31 pm
Just Joined

crowding is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I (UKC) and my wife (USC) are planning a US move - Missing anything?

TL;DR I am looking to move to the US with my American wife (together 10 years, married 5) in the next 1-3 years to start a family near my wife's mother. In the UK I work in tech and my wife is unemployed - Are there sponsorship/employment complications/requirements beyond the I-130 + G-325a > DS-260 + I-864 route?

---

Long version:
  • I am a 30 year old Product Manager working in Financial Technology in London
  • My wife is 32 years old and unemployed
  • We have been married for 5 years
  • My wife is a US Citizen from birth
  • My wife is in the UK on a marriage Visa, but has been resident for 10+ years (she studied here, then post-study work visa, then marriage)
  • We currently own a London property
  • The company I work for in London does not have a US office, so we intend to go to the US and settle, living off savings while I find somewhere to work
  • I have approx $50,000 in savings as well as $150,000 paid off on a London property
  • We have a dog we would like to take with us
---

Random bonus questions:
1. Is it likely we would be able to plan, arrange, and action a move in 1 to 2 years?
2. For others in a similar situation, did you adopt an approach similar to what I'm thinking (focus on move-only first, and then find employment from the US) and did it go well? Similarly, anyone decide to go all-in and line up a job, a property purchase, immigration, and a UK property sale at the same time?
3. Is my assumed pathway mentioned in my TL;DR the fastest/easiest route​​​​​​ to moving to the US?