Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

EAD confusion - self employed, etc.

EAD confusion - self employed, etc.

Old Nov 20th 2003, 1:08 pm
Whimsical in the brainpan

Elenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of lightElenfair is a glorious beacon of light
Default EAD confusion - self employed, etc.

Ok.

I'm a self-employed music teacher (usually).

I intend to work as a private studio teacher, here in my home. So far, so good.

I'm here on a K1, which expires Feb 11. No EAD stamp (darnit!) at the POE. Getting married Jan. 30.

Question: Can I work once I have an EAD in my hot little hands (for my K1)? What happens after Feb 11 when I suddenly can't "work" anymore? Can I still apply for an EAD at the St Paul office (say I mail it in) and will it have a quick turnaround, or is it now all being shipped off to some netherworld service center and will take months?

Help?
Old Nov 20th 2003, 1:45 pm
Account Closed

Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: EAD confusion - self employed, etc.

Originally posted by Elenfair
Ok.

I'm here on a K1, which expires Feb 11. No EAD stamp (darnit!) at the POE. Getting married Jan. 30.

Question: Can I work once I have an EAD in my hot little hands (for my K1)? What happens after Feb 11 when I suddenly can't "work" anymore? Can I still apply for an EAD at the St Paul office (say I mail it in) and will it have a quick turnaround, or is it now all being shipped off to some netherworld service center and will take months?

Help?
Hi:

1. There is no penalty imposed on YOU for engaging in unauthorized employment.