Teaching in Alberta

Old Dec 28th 2011, 11:13 pm
Forum Regular

kmcmull1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teaching in Alberta

I'm hoping to act as a supply teacher at some stage when we make our way across the water before Easter 2012.

How big of a process is this? I am a Canadian citizen (as my mother was born in Calgary) I have a BA(hons) degree in Consumer Studies and a PGCE in Home Economics and I'm in my 4th year of secondart school teaching (in a permanent position). How realistic is teaching in Alberta for me?

Any advice would be most welcome.
Thanks
Old Dec 30th 2011, 4:11 am
BE Forum Addict

geedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond reputegeedee has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Teaching in Alberta

It's as realistic as you want it to be.

Cryptic reply as an excuse to bump and get a more informed response....

PS... as a teacher, check your spelling.
Old Jan 1st 2012, 11:36 pm
BTJ
Occasionally Useful

BTJ is on a distinguished road

The general concensus on teaching in Canada is that it will take a long time to get a full-time permanent position, but it shouldn't be too hard to get a supply position (though by no means trivial). I am training to be a physics teacher myself (although reconsidering it) and on my PGDE course in the UK there are Canadians, which give some indication of the saturation of teachers in Canada.

You just need to apply to get your Alberta Teaching Certificate and then start applying for jobs in school districts in Alberta - pretty much. http://education.alberta.ca/teachers/certification.aspx
Old Jul 9th 2012, 7:28 pm
Forum Regular

Des and Chris is an unknown quantity at this point