I need a new laptop

Old Jun 29th 2011, 5:30 pm
  #1  
Happy
Thread Starter
 
Howefamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,923
Howefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond repute
Default I need a new laptop

Just went to Future Shop to look into buying a new laptop. I dont want to pay stacks for it as we only want it for Netflix, skype, internet browsing and the odd spreadsheet or word doc. The guy there told me that I can buy one from the wide price range and ideally I should pay for a setup. When I queried what a setup is ($150 worth apparently) its to clear all the unneccesary junk it comes with from the manufacturer.

Now I know these guys work on commission and I do not want to being pay for something I dont need......
any thoughts on this setup please?

thanks all
Howefamily is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 5:36 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 318
Monique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I need a new laptop

a cheaper alternative to a laptop then if u only need for netflix is this...

http://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/sto...Number=SMPN100

$99 and u can watch netflix on ya TV with it!!!
Monique_in_Canada is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 5:39 pm
  #3  
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 12,830
Aviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond reputeAviator has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by Howefamily View Post
Just went to Future Shop to look into buying a new laptop. I dont want to pay stacks for it as we only want it for Netflix, skype, internet browsing and the odd spreadsheet or word doc. The guy there told me that I can buy one from the wide price range and ideally I should pay for a setup. When I queried what a setup is ($150 worth apparently) its to clear all the unneccesary junk it comes with from the manufacturer.

Now I know these guys work on commission and I do not want to being pay for something I dont need......
any thoughts on this setup please?

thanks all
Got to add remove programs from control panel and you can remove the junk yourself.
Aviator is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 5:40 pm
  #4  
Every day's a school day
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Was Calgary back in Edmonton again !!
Posts: 2,667
cheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

no you dont what a con $150!
cheeky_monkey is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 5:41 pm
  #5  
Happy
Thread Starter
 
Howefamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,923
Howefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

thanks guys, yes I do need a new laptop too, for online banking, word documents, facebook, skype.....
The relatives back at home are getting fedup with the fact we havent sorted Skype yet.........
Howefamily is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 6:19 pm
  #6  
Assimilated Pauper
 
dbd33's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 38,555
dbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond reputedbd33 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by Howefamily View Post
thanks guys, yes I do need a new laptop too, for online banking, word documents, facebook, skype.....
The relatives back at home are getting fedup with the fact we havent sorted Skype yet.........
Costco has lots of machines that will do that for not a lot of money.
dbd33 is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 6:36 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
CanadaJimmy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 1,703
CanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Just make sure you don't get conned into getting a Pentium Dual Core laptop, those things are old and dreadful yet they seem to be slapping them into the lower end laptops to clear intel's stockpile of them. Get an Intel i5 or Intel i7 CPU, at least 2GB of RAM (4GB is recommended). Also for Netflix check out the VIdeo-output options so if you plan to connect it to the TV you can. Some Laptops have HDMI tv-out ports.
CanadaJimmy is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 6:39 pm
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,059
Bill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond reputeBill_S has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

I have a Lenovo that has been working well for over two years. No problems at all. A tip - when buying direct from the manufacturer (as I did), try using the "small business" configuration tool rather than the "home" tool. There was very little pre-loaded bloatware on my "business" laptop.
Bill_S is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 6:46 pm
  #9  
Every day's a school day
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Was Calgary back in Edmonton again !!
Posts: 2,667
cheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond reputecheeky_monkey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by CanadaJimmy View Post
Also for Netflix check out the VIdeo-output options so if you plan to connect it to the TV you can. Some Laptops have HDMI tv-out ports.
dont virtually all laptops have HDMI outputs these days..also go for AMD QUAD CORE..they are about $100 cheaper for the same spec intel i5 machine.
cheeky_monkey is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 6:50 pm
  #10  
Fair and balanced
 
kimilseung's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 15,635
kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by Howefamily View Post
thanks guys, yes I do need a new laptop too, for online banking, word documents, facebook, skype.....
The relatives back at home are getting fedup with the fact we havent sorted Skype yet.........
Whats wrong with the old laptop? For what you want a computer several years old will do, you could buy a second hand one for the price of the setup.
kimilseung is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 7:23 pm
  #11  
Happy
Thread Starter
 
Howefamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,923
Howefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

old laptop is knackered, slow, missing some keys, I could go on....
Howefamily is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 7:29 pm
  #12  
BE Forum Addict
 
CanadaJimmy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 1,703
CanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond reputeCanadaJimmy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by cheeky_monkey View Post
dont virtually all laptops have HDMI outputs these days..also go for AMD QUAD CORE..they are about $100 cheaper for the same spec intel i5 machine.
Yeah, the $100 saving is clearly worth your legs burning when you have the thing on your lap. Also not all of them have HDMI, many are still the S-Video+VGA combo, a lot have DVI but then you have to get an adaptor and a seperate audio cable. HDMI certainly isn't guaranteed but is definitely the best option for TV hookups provided you have a modern TV.
CanadaJimmy is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 7:29 pm
  #13  
Fair and balanced
 
kimilseung's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 15,635
kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

Originally Posted by Howefamily View Post
old laptop is knackered, slow, missing some keys, I could go on....
Do you perform maintenance on it? Was it always slow? If not, re-installation of operating system might be a solution, clear out all the accumulated junk. You could also install a new keyboard, if you are not up to doing it yourself ask a local computer repair shop how much they would want, it will probably be cheaper than a new computer, your requirements do not seem to be overly resource intensive, you don't need an i-5.
kimilseung is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 7:32 pm
  #14  
Happy
Thread Starter
 
Howefamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,923
Howefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond reputeHowefamily has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: I need a new laptop

nope, no maintenance, we are useless when it comes to this stuff
Howefamily is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2011, 9:06 pm
  #15  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 318
Monique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to beholdMonique_in_Canada is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: I need a new laptop

if u have access to the US..... try fatwallet.com!!!
Monique_in_Canada is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.