Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > The Maple Leaf
Reload this Page >

Groceries in Canada are cheaper, I have evidence!

Groceries in Canada are cheaper, I have evidence!

Old Feb 23rd 2008, 3:14 am
BE Enthusiast

Solarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to beholdSolarfish is a splendid one to behold
Default Groceries in Canada are cheaper, I have evidence!

I have been using a home finance package for many years and have always categorised certain expenses, one of them being groceries. Today I ran a comparison report for groceries.

During our first six months in Canada, 1 Aug 2007 - 31 Jan 2008 we spent about $6400 on groceries.

The equivalent six months in the previous year, 1 Aug 2006 - 31 Jan 2007 we spent about £5000 on groceries.

I also ran a report comparing the year before we left with the previous year out of interest

1 Aug 2005 - 31 July 2006 we spent about £8300 on groceries

1 Aug 2006 - 31 July 2007 we spent about £7400 on groceries

So from this information it certainly seems like Canada is cheaper over all. I also seems that food prices have gone down in the UK, something I had suspected for a while. However even taking that into account I believe we have spent less here that we would have done at home.

This is all based on a family of four and I don't think our eating habits have varied widely between the UK and here or from one time period to another. The vast majority of our shopping in the UK was at Tescos with occasional trips to M&S. Here it has been almost exclusively Safeway (Canmore).
Old Feb 23rd 2008, 3:37 am
Banned