Reload this Page >

30 minute lunch breaks.

30 minute lunch breaks.

Old Mar 25th 2008, 11:14 pm
Forum Regular

princesshumla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 30 minute lunch breaks.

Ok. So I work in retail.
I also worked in retail when I was younger in the UK.
Here, I get a 30 minute lunch break unpaid, and they usually make me feel bad about taking that, even though i'm on my feet all day.
In the UK, in a similar setting, we were allowed a one hour lunch break and two twenty minute "tea" breaks.
Now i'm a manager, and so when it's quiet, i've been sending some of the staff on extra 15 minute breaks if they are tired, or just to get some fresh air, as I believe it increases the general morale of the store, and I believe that people NEED breaks, otherwise it's unhealthy. Does anyone else find it strange how much Canadians oppose giving breaks to their staff? They seem to have this holier than thou attitude, ie: "I don't need to take any break at all, because i'm a harder worker, blah blah blah...".
Now they're telling me not to give out 15 minute breaks at all, because a 30 minute break in an almost 9 hour day on your feet is adequate. Is Canada not a developed country? It's disgusting.
Old Mar 25th 2008, 11:28 pm

bazzz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 30 minute lunch breaks.

I'll quite often take a couple of hours for lunch if there's a football match on TV. And usually 30 mins for coffee each morning, although I might read something work-related at the same time.

In the summer it's not unusual for us to go running at lunchtime and end up at the student pub where we'll spend an hour or two sitting in the sun, drinking beer and eating bad nachos.

Sounds like you need to get a new job.
Old Mar 25th 2008, 11:46 pm
Born again atheist