Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page >

Rust on satellite dish question

Rust on satellite dish question

Old Apr 1st 2020, 3:04 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
MCR01 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Rust on satellite dish question

In SW France with a 90cm metal dish with slight rusting. Will the rust affect performance or is my loss of BBC 4 on Freesat unrelated?
(Using Humax box & new Samsung TV).
Thanks.
MCR01 is offline  
Old Apr 6th 2020, 12:45 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 737
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Rust on satellite dish question

If your dish is rusty, it's probably also the case that the LNB (the receiving part in the middle) is dirty/mouldy. The rust itself is not likely to cause signal loss.
Dirt/Mould on the LNB will affect the picture quality.
You could check the whole thing for security, loose fittings etc. and clean the LNB carefully using a little soapy water on a microfibre cloth..

Before all that..try retuning your Freesat box. That may be the problem.
calman014 is offline  
Old May 28th 2020, 10:11 am
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 737
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Talking Re: Rust on satellite dish question

it will remove the rust..but then what to do about all the flies sticking on the dish..
calman014 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.