Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page >

Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Old May 30th 2021, 12:37 pm
  #1  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
philat98's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Central Italy
Posts: 1,810
philat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Anyone using an LTE Modem?

I was thinking of moving from ADSL to a 4g LTE modem. Is anyone doing this? I can get 4g 100gigbyte per month for Euro8 from Vodaphone.
Any thoughts?
philat98 is offline  
Old May 31st 2021, 5:53 pm
  #2  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 3,131
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Performance wise they're really no different to using your phone as a hotspot. Do you know how much data you use per month at present as the 100GB a month would be my biggest concern, my household uses 1.5TB a month on average, more if someone is downloading games which are regularly 60GB+ each.
SpoogleDrummer is offline  
Old Jun 1st 2021, 6:10 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
philat98's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Central Italy
Posts: 1,810
philat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

I was thinking a modem with an antenna might get a better signal than a mobile. On the negative side the sim card has to be plugged into the modem.
I am not too worried about data usage. The thing that worries me is the connection speed. On the iphone I get a connection speed of less than 1Mbit with Telecom Italia. I live in a mountainous region so mobile signals are not always good.
philat98 is offline  
Old Jun 5th 2021, 6:15 pm
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 804
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

What the provider tells you in the advertising, and what you can actually attain regarding speed depends on many variables.

Have you got an old iPhone? Is it LTE or 4G capable? Older ones won't pull high data speeds anyway.

Have you tried your phone with a Vodafone card? or do you have friends/neighbours with good speeds?

A proper LTE Modem works quite well and you can generally attach 4 ethernet cables as well as using a wifi connection to it. That's the main advantage over using a hotspot on a mobile phone.

Most providers like Vodafone offer a second card option. You can have a second card with the same number and put this one in your LTE or 4G modem.
Of course you have to be aware of your data limits.
Alternatively some providers offer a "DATA ONLY" option with special tariffs.

Another alternative is the new STARLINK system from TESLA but this is not yet active in Spain.

PS: there are special outdoor LTE antennas with amplifiers which can be attached to the modem in most cases.
calman014 is offline  
Old Jul 8th 2021, 12:31 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
philat98's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Central Italy
Posts: 1,810
philat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond reputephilat98 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
What the provider tells you in the advertising, and what you can actually attain regarding speed depends on many variables.

Have you got an old iPhone? Is it LTE or 4G capable? Older ones won't pull high data speeds anyway.

Have you tried your phone with a Vodafone card? or do you have friends/neighbours with good speeds?

A proper LTE Modem works quite well and you can generally attach 4 ethernet cables as well as using a wifi connection to it. That's the main advantage over using a hotspot on a mobile phone.

Most providers like Vodafone offer a second card option. You can have a second card with the same number and put this one in your LTE or 4G modem.
Of course you have to be aware of your data limits.
Alternatively some providers offer a "DATA ONLY" option with special tariffs.

Another alternative is the new STARLINK system from TESLA but this is not yet active in Spain.

PS: there are special outdoor LTE antennas with amplifiers which can be attached to the modem most cases.
Thanks for your response. Thats interesting you can get a data only SIM card . I bought a Huawei P10 with 4G. It creates a WIFI hotspot giving 30mbits.from my appartment. I will try for a month and then dump the ADSL if all goes well.
philat98 is offline  
Old Jul 14th 2021, 3:35 am
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Jsmth321's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 29,259
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
Performance wise they're really no different to using your phone as a hotspot. Do you know how much data you use per month at present as the 100GB a month would be my biggest concern, my household uses 1.5TB a month on average, more if someone is downloading games which are regularly 60GB+ each.
Good lord that is a lot.

I get nervous with our 150gb average use, our data cap is 200gb a month.

Jsmth321 is offline  
Old Jul 14th 2021, 5:33 am
  #7  
He/him
 
kimilseung's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 16,717
kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
Performance wise they're really no different to using your phone as a hotspot. Do you know how much data you use per month at present as the 100GB a month would be my biggest concern, my household uses 1.5TB a month on average, more if someone is downloading games which are regularly 60GB+ each.
Originally Posted by Jsmth321 View Post
Good lord that is a lot.

I get nervous with our 150gb average use, our data cap is 200gb a month.
We are roughly 1T per month for a family of three.
kimilseung is offline  
Old Jul 14th 2021, 4:04 pm
  #8  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 3,131
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Originally Posted by Jsmth321 View Post
Good lord that is a lot.

I get nervous with our 150gb average use, our data cap is 200gb a month.
It would be a lot more if I hadn't switched everything down to stream in either SD or regular HD. I have a 2TB a month data cap and we were blowing through it last year when Mediacom weren't enforcing the cap.
SpoogleDrummer is offline  
Old Jul 15th 2021, 5:14 am
  #9  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Jsmth321's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 29,259
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
It would be a lot more if I hadn't switched everything down to stream in either SD or regular HD. I have a 2TB a month data cap and we were blowing through it last year when Mediacom weren't enforcing the cap.
I realized tonight that our cable streams but because the cable & internet is through the same company, the TV cable component isn't accounted for in our data usage, so we are probably higher than what the usage on our account shows.

Upside is the TV no longer is tied to wherever the coaxial wall thing is, as the cable box is wireless, downside is now when the internet goes down, so does the TV which kind of sucks.

Ditching cable would only save us like $20 a month, the cable company got smart, reduce the TV component to basically nothing when bundled with internet but jack the price of internet, so internet part goes up, the TV party keeps going down, but they are not losing money, they are just getting the revenue for TV through higher internet prices, and of course without bundling TV with internet the price for the internet is higher.

Do I feel silly now annoyed when AOL raised their price to like $15.95 a month in the early 00's or some trivial amount. Internet was cheap, but also far less useful and slow, so I guess with what we have now speed wise, prices had to go up, but I think $115 a month for internet is still pricey.

*Canadian $

Last edited by Jsmth321; Jul 15th 2021 at 5:18 am.
Jsmth321 is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2021, 4:08 pm
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 804
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Anyone using an LTE Modem?

You could test the quality of the connection first using your mobile phone as a 'hotspot'.

You can do a speedtest in the browser and you should then have a good idea.
calman014 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.