Go Back  British Expats > General > The Lab
Reload this Page >

Adding an SSD to your laptop

Adding an SSD to your laptop

Old Jun 14th 2018, 10:53 pm
  #1  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Adding an SSD to your laptop

I had thought this would be too complicated for me but having watched a couple of videos it doesn't seem harder than adding RAM.

I watched one video where the practical part was done and I thought yes, but there's nothing on the newly installed drive. But then I found another clip showing how to do the upgrade without installing windows and all the rest. The method included (free) Partition Wizard, which I thought a bit odd but the feature used was Migrate to SSD.

The process looked similar to that used for taking a system image in W10. So question number 1 - Is it the same? I noticed that the PW had the option of migrating to the SSD or copying to the SSD so a copy remains on the HD. Possibly useful in case it all went wrong and you could switch back to the HD.

I did the "Crucial thing" for compatibility on my previous laptop - Gateway - and for a 120gb SSD, this came up.
Specs - Crucial BX300 120GB SATA 6Gbps 2.5" Internal SSD • 555MB/s Read, 510MB/s WriteSeriesBX300 With the number - CT10269595.
Out of curiosity, I did the same thing for my Acer laptop and got
Specs - Crucial BX300 120GB SATA 6Gbps 2.5" Internal SSD • 555MB/s Read, 510MB/s WriteSeriesBX300 Which is the same stuff except has the number CT10164383. Both are $42.99 US.

So, question number 2 - Are they both the same and the different number is just part of Crucial's guarantee of compatibility?

Question number 3 - If you search for SSDs that are SATA, does it make any difference if the results include SATA II or SATA III or should they be avoided?

Crucial's free delivery doesn't apply to Canada. The $42.99 doesn't seem so bad but with delivery and conversion to Canadian comes to $69 (plus any fee from the credit card bank for the currency change).

On amazon Canada I found this one
Kingshare E300 Kingshare E300
which has the same specs @ $41.19 Canadian and free shipping.
It says SATA. Question 4 -Will that one work?

There are
several others of a similar price several others of a similar price
(even 128gb options) but they say SATA III and two even say mSATA, with one saying mini disc even though it looks the same size. These other makes are Zheino and Dogfish.

This is just an experiment for now and not my main laptop. I want to see how my Gateway runs with an SSD. Taking that on board is it worth sticking with Crucial and paying a bit more than with Amazon Canada?

Both laptops have less than 70gb used so 120gb ought to be enough.

Any other suggestions?
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2018, 6:36 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Tweedpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Halfway between Ricard & Absynthe
Posts: 3,377
Tweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Having used Macs since 2002 I'm far from an expert on PC's, but believe I can address a few of your queries, and leave the finer issues for the specialists here.
Regarding the Crucial SSD specs and your Q#1,2, I would say they are identical, so ignore the CT ref.
Q#3: The 555MB/s read, and 510MB/s write speeds appear to indicate Sata III which is fine if your PC's motherboard will support those speeds, if not, the sata III SSD will still function being backwards compatible, but the maximum speed of the drive will be slower due to the lower speed limitations of your motherboard. So you''d be paying a little more for a SATA III without benefitting from their faster read/write speeds.
The Crucial brand has an excellent reputation (along with Samsung - often preferred by specialists), but personally I have used both SanDisk and Transcend brands in sata and mSata form factors with excellent results.
Msata cards are smaller than the more common sata SSD cards and require a different interface in order to connect. They are basically another form factor with the same (SATA 3) speed of regular SSDs. I often install mSata cards to some of my vintage 1999-2005 Mac laptops but always have to order a compatible ide/sata interface. For simplicity I'd advise you to stick with a sata SSD.
Q#4: Yes that Kingshare SSD should be ok but it's not a brand I'm familiar with. It may be a clone of the KingSpec brand which many have used successfully. However if it were me I'd definitely pay a little more and stick with a generaly higher regarded brand like those previously mentioned.
Never heard of Zheino or Dogfish which are probably Chinese, cheap & (maybe) not particularly cheerful.
With an SSD installed you will probably notice a little positive improvement in boot-up time, but where they particuarly score is in the access time to open aps - almost instantaneously.
When I install an SSD, I always max out RAM memory at the same time. Both of these changes should transform most laptop (or desktop) computers.

It should be interesting to hear the comments from the specialists. Sorry I can't answer your Q#1 as to date I've yet to clone a pc HD and have never used Partition Wizard. On a Mac it's a doddle; I clone via Firewire 400/800 using CCC free software.

Last edited by Tweedpipe; Jun 15th 2018 at 6:57 am.
Tweedpipe is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2018, 4:14 pm
  #3  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 2,263
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Q1. The answer is possibly. I have Samsung SSDs and they came with their own migration tool so I didn't faff around with images, I just let it run and it copied everything over perfectly so I assume other manufacturers will offer similar tools. Getting Started With SSD Drives | Crucial.com is the info for Crusial SSDs.
Q2 & 4. They're probably the same, generally speaking if the connectors match then it will work, I don't think I've ever ran in to a compatibility issue with a harddrive or SSD.
SpoogleDrummer is online now  
Old Jun 15th 2018, 5:01 pm
  #4  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by Tweedpipe View Post
...Regarding the Crucial SSD specs and your Q#1,2, I would say they are identical, so ignore the CT ref.
Q#3: The 555MB/s read, and 510MB/s write speeds appear to indicate Sata III which is fine if your PC's motherboard will support those speeds...
Presumably it will, since Crucial is guaranteeing the match.
Msata cards are smaller than the more common sata SSD cards and require a different interface in order to connect.
I thought it would be something like that. Just a bit odd that two results referred to msata but only one referred to it as mini.
.
I often install mSata cards to some of my vintage 1999-2005 Mac laptops
Blimey, how many do you have?
For simplicity I'd advise you to stick with a sata SSD....I'd definitely pay a little more and stick with a generaly higher regarded brand like those previously mentioned.
I'm certainly that way inclined. It's tempting to save the cash but I wouldn't want the experiment to fail and give it up when the cheap version might be the reason.
Never heard of Zheino or Dogfish which are probably Chinese, cheap & (maybe) not particularly cheerful.
From the delivery times that seems likely, though I'm not in a hurry.

Thanks for your input.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2018, 5:11 pm
  #5  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
Q1. The answer is possibly. I have Samsung SSDs and they came with their own migration tool so I didn't faff around with images, I just let it run and it copied everything over perfectly so I assume other manufacturers will offer similar tools. Getting Started With SSD Drives Crucial.com is the info for Crusial SSDs.
Just had a quick look. Comes with the SSD apparently.
Q2 & 4. They're probably the same, generally speaking if the connectors match then it will work, I don't think I've ever ran in to a compatibility issue with a harddrive or SSD.
The connectors certainly look the same in the pics. I'd be more concerned about screw-holes in the right place
Thanks.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2018, 8:49 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
calman014's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 663
calman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond reputecalman014 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Why not also look at a HYBRID hard drive, which is a hard drive accelerated by additional SSD memory? These are normally a straight swap with no complications, and much cheaper.
SEAGATE Firecuda is a recent one.
calman014 is offline  
Old Jun 16th 2018, 11:01 am
  #7  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by calman014 View Post
Why not also look at a HYBRID hard drive, which is a hard drive accelerated by additional SSD memory? These are normally a straight swap with no complications, and much cheaper.
SEAGATE Firecuda is a recent one.
There's such a thing?
Found this one on Amazon Canada on a quick look for
$62.99, $62.99,
free shipping. 500gb. Compatible?


Dunno why the link is there twice. On edit it's only there once so nothing to edit.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 12:09 am
  #8  
Hostage Negotiator
 
InVinoVeritas's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,133
InVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond reputeInVinoVeritas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

My experience with hybrid disk drives is that they don't offer much of a performance boost whereas an SSD can make a sluggish PC quite athletic.
InVinoVeritas is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 12:38 am
  #9  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

How to move Windows 10 from your old hard drive to SSD | IT PRO
Before you move the Windows installation files to an SSD, you have to separate any other data (documents, pictures, music, videos) to another disc as these won’t be transferred to the SSD.
Won't they? That didn't get a mention on the videos I watched and the stuff I read prior to my first post.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 12:39 am
  #10  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by InVinoVeritas View Post
My experience with hybrid disk drives is that they don't offer much of a performance boost whereas an SSD can make a sluggish PC quite athletic.
It does sound like they might be a better fit for gamers.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 5:12 am
  #11  
You aint seen me, right?
 
SpoogleDrummer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: US of A, TN
Posts: 2,263
SpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond reputeSpoogleDrummer has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
How to move Windows 10 from your old hard drive to SSD IT PRO

Won't they? That didn't get a mention on the videos I watched and the stuff I read prior to my first post.
They seem to be assuming that you'll be going to a smaller SSD than your full HDD, I went from 750GB to 1TB so everything copied perfectly.
SpoogleDrummer is online now  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 11:47 am
  #12  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by SpoogleDrummer View Post
They seem to be assuming that you'll be going to a smaller SSD than your full HDD, I went from 750GB to 1TB so everything copied perfectly.
It's a bit unclear, though. They certainly make references to making sure it fits if you've collected large music and video files and other stuff. And if it didn't all fit then you'd need to store it elsewhere - likely an external drive.

But if it does fit because you had already arranged it that way - the Gateway (W7) I want to do is a 500gb and my current Acer (W10) is 1tb, but both only have about 70gb of stuff on it so a 12gb SSD should be ample - the way they worded that part suggests the process wouldn't take that stuff if it did fit.

It's not that important since this is my older laptop, with nothing that would be missed. But if I did decide to do it with a current laptop, I'd be a bit pissed off if it didn't go like the tutorial I had watched.
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 3:28 pm
  #13  
BE Forum Addict
 
Tweedpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Halfway between Ricard & Absynthe
Posts: 3,377
Tweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond reputeTweedpipe has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by BristolUK View Post
It's a bit unclear, though. They certainly make references to making sure it fits if you've collected large music and video files and other stuff. And if it didn't all fit then you'd need to store it elsewhere - likely an external drive.

But if it does fit because you had already arranged it that way - the Gateway (W7) I want to do is a 500gb and my current Acer (W10) is 1tb, but both only have about 70gb of stuff on it so a 12gb SSD should be ample - the way they worded that part suggests the process wouldn't take that stuff if it did fit.

It's not that important since this is my older laptop, with nothing that would be missed. But if I did decide to do it with a current laptop, I'd be a bit pissed off if it didn't go like the tutorial I had watched.
I agree, that article on cloning is a litle ambigous in it's wording.
By the way your comment, "so a 12gb SSD should be ample" surely should have read 120Gb, if you have 70Gb of data to clone across.

Fwiw, yesterday I cloned an oldish 2.5GB capacity operating system across from an enormous (for it's time) 6GB hard drive to a new 32Gb Ide/Pata SSD. Even adding a fully updated web-browser with a small 164Mb footprint, I still have a 'massive' 29GB for apps and personal docs etc. Not only has it given this old girl a new lease of life - especially a faster pair of legs - it loads and renders this BE website and others admirably. Vintage computing ain't dead yet.......
Tweedpipe is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 5:59 pm
  #14  
Somewhat uncouth
Thread Starter
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 25,798
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Originally Posted by Tweedpipe View Post
I agree, that article on cloning is a litle ambigous in it's wording.
By the way your comment, "so a 12gb SSD should be ample" surely should have read 120Gb, if you have 70Gb of data to clone across.
Yes...at least I got it right in the first post.

Fwiw, yesterday I cloned an oldish 2.5GB capacity operating system across from an enormous (for it's time) 6GB hard drive to a new 32Gb Ide/Pata SSD. Even adding a fully updated web-browser with a small 164Mb footprint, I still have a 'massive' 29GB for apps and personal docs etc. Not only has it given this old girl a new lease of life - especially a faster pair of legs - it loads and renders this BE website and others admirably. Vintage computing ain't dead yet.......
My first computer had 3gb and that was plenty back then.
Hmmm...lots of people seem to think 32 can't cope with W10 updates or is that 16?

I've already ordered the SSD from Crucial - along with the little transfer cable. Theirs didn't seem any more expensive than on Amazon
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2018, 7:20 pm
  #15  
Stand-up Philosopher
 
caretaker's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Regina and Oliver
Posts: 9,506
caretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond reputecaretaker has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adding an SSD to your laptop

Because the laptops I'm fixing up had spinning rust drives in them I'm going from 9mm to 7mm when putting in the ssd. Some still have the rails in them and some don't, and wonders can be done with cardboard or foam, but I like these to make them nice and snug. Since most that I get are Lenovos these are the trays I like to keep on hand.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/7mm-HDD-Har...72.m2749.l2649
caretaker is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.