Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Italy
Reload this Page >

Ruin rebuild questions

Ruin rebuild questions

Old Mar 27th 2011, 1:49 am
Just Joined

Stone Mason is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ruin rebuild questions

Hi everyone, this is my first post. It's nice to read all of your friendly and helpful post.
I plan on buying a ruin or a restoration home in Abruzzo. I'm aware of the strict planning of the council. Does anyone know or can you maybe ask if the home can be reconstructed using a 2 by 6 framing method on concrete foundation, running electrical and plumbing through the studs, having an r-19 insulated wall, and using the reclaimed stone on the exterior. This way the home would have a high r value, be earthquake steady, and have its original appearance.

I would be doing 90% of the work myself as I'm a contractor and stone mason.

Thanks to all that reply.

Mathew
Old Mar 27th 2011, 6:55 am
Just Joined

Default Re: Ruin rebuild questions

Also.. Do any of you have a blog or link on your progress and journey? I did see a thread on cost per m2 to rebuild. Any info would be great. . .
Old Mar 27th 2011, 8:25 am
BE Forum Addict

modicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond reputemodicasa has a reputation beyond repute

Building in wood is not common in Italy, mainly because of the very high price of timber. Its cheaper for me in Sicily to have something made in wrought iron than wood.....