Reload this Page >

Relocating to Liguria

Relocating to Liguria

Old Jul 22nd 2014, 4:15 pm
Just Joined

Nicholavaughan is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Relocating to Liguria

Hi
My husband and I have our hearts set on relocating to Liguria.
He is an expert in restoring vintage Ferraris (road and race cars). I am a freelance writer.
We are both learning Italian and I am competent at French.
I want to relocate to Liguria because I want to be close to the French border and cote d'Azur but Italy is my favourite country in the world so this region "ticks all the boxes".
I would love to hear from any couples/families who made the move "in their forties" to give me a real insight into whether or not our dream is possible.
Looking forward to hearing from you and making new friends.
Nichola
Old Jul 22nd 2014, 10:06 pm
Forum Regular

gioppino has a brilliant futuregioppino has a brilliant futuregioppino has a brilliant futuregioppino has a brilliant futuregioppino has a brilliant futuregioppino has a brilliant future
Default Re: Relocating to Liguria

I don't belong to the demographics you were looking for, but just in case nobody answers.

I lived in Liguria, in bits and pieces, in the '90s. The weather is good in summer and as hot as you expect, but it's a bit like Manchester in fall/winter, it rains quite often and it can be nasty at times. A couple of serious floods in the last 5 years.

I don't see why your dream move could possibly fail, assuming from your professions that you are going to have a solid source of income.

I like Genoa very much, If you choose the right neighborhood you could have the right mix between relax, landscape and civilization. I find the 'touristy' part of Liguria a bit boring.
Old Jul 23rd 2014, 7:55 am
Forum Regular

Bluemoon10 is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi Nicholavaughan,