Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Italy
Reload this Page >

Moving to Genoa

Moving to Genoa

Old Oct 8th 2018, 11:54 pm
Just Joined

World citizen is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Genoa

After theee years in New Zealand and eight years in Australia my family and I decided to move back to Europe. My wife is English and I am German but want to live in Italy for life style and career reasons. My children are very arts minded but decent academic achievers, my wife a former professional ballet dancer, a passion that she shares with my three girls and I am a tennis coach that runs a business for tournament players at national/international level.
i would like to live my business to Genoa as we would be still close enough to a few neighbouring countries for accessing tournaments but also for my kids to travel to in order to widen their horizon with regards to arts, culture etc.
My oldest child is finishing school in a few weeks and will defer his entry into uni for a year in order to make up his mind whether he wants to stay with us in Italy or move back to Oz.
I need help with finding a facility to rent out for coaching as all clubs have their own coaches and I don’t want to start my life in Italy being accused of stealing students. I am also looking for keen players with English and or German speaking background as my Italian is pretty much on novice level.
A handful of my current students will come to live and train for about three to four months per year in Italy and I will spend about the same time travelling around the European tennis tour.
I could get a place for my sixteen year old daughter at Deledda International school but need to find an affordable quality school for my five and eight year old daughters that don’t speak any Italian yet.
Other than that we are looking to live more rural but still within an easy commute to the city.
No that was quite a mouthful to digest!!-Sorry!