Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Italy
Reload this Page >

Hi Newbie from Bologna

Hi Newbie from Bologna

Old Oct 2nd 2009, 9:03 pm
Forum Regular

JohnD63 has a spectacular aura aboutJohnD63 has a spectacular aura aboutJohnD63 has a spectacular aura about
Default Hi Newbie from Bologna

Hi my name is John, originally from Kent. I'm an Electrician by trade but in the last 15 yrs in my spare time i've been painting artwork onto motorcycles and crash helmets with an airbrush. I came to Italy almost 10 yrs ago for a 3 week course to take my art to the next level. It was there that i met my future fiancee. Every year i would return to practice and improve my airbrushing skills. To tell you the truth i never had any desire to live in Italy.
In 2005 she left her life in Italy, a very brave move on her behalf, to be with me in the UK. We started a little business painting artwork on collectible merchandise such as lighters and pens. She worked in the day and in the evenings when i finished work i would join in and help her. Slowly, as orders started coming in i could takes large amounts of time off from the electrical work and help her paint. Once a year we would return to Italy so she could spend time with her family and friends. Now the orders are such that i gave up my job a few months ago and we moved back to her home town outside Bologna. We are renting a house close to the town center.
I'm afraid i still havent that desire to be here but it's important that she is happy as she means alot to me. There's alot of things i miss about the UK and the main one is the convenience of 24 hour shopping. Oh and i really miss fresh UK bread. I don't know what it is about the bread here but i feel like i'm eating dust.