Non Compete Contract

Old Jan 30th 2006, 3:48 pm
I want my Bike !

Gripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really niceGripper is just really nice
Default Non Compete Contract

Hi Everyone

I have been working in the US for an small IT support company for the last 2 and a half years. I am a permanent resident.

I have been told that I must sign a non compete form or I will be dismissed. I have also been told that I am doing a great job and my boss has no complaints with the work I do.

This all came about because another technician went to work for one of our clients. The client then cancelled their support contract with us.

I refused to sign the contract stating that this should have been done when I joined the company and that I should receive some sort of incentive to sign it.The contract was completely unfair as you can see below.

I ............ being employed by ......... Computer Services, Inc. agree that I will not take the offer of employment (involving the scope of duties integral to my current position of a netwrok systems technician) from any client of said comapany for a period of two years post termination and/or geographic vicinity of a 30 mile radius of said company's ........... location.
The same restrictions follow regarding self-employment and solicitation of .........'s clients.

I sat and spoke with my employer and he agreed that the contract was unfair and that he would rewrite it. He also stated that my incentive for signing would be "continued employment". I would have to sign one or be dismissed. I am currently waiting for the next contract.

If I am dismissed will I be able to collect unemployment from him? and do I have a good case for unfair dismissal?

Should I call his bluff and refuse to sign one at all? I'm sure business will be hurt if I leave.