Reload this Page >

help and advice british couple moving to pune

help and advice british couple moving to pune

Old Aug 1st 2013, 1:57 pm
Just Joined

oatcake12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile help and advice british couple moving to pune

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to the Indian forums. I am looking for some general advise. My husbands company have asked him to go and work in Pune for two to three years. I have not yet agreed to it as I am unsure what I am letting myself in for, having never visited India before in my life. We have previously expatted in China for a year, which was a big culture shock but a great experience, however it was a very easy place to live. Nice house, supermarkets, restaurants and better healthcare than UK (private of course through his company). So I am just after some advice about Pune, can i expect to live in a house or an apartment?.... Is there supermarkets or is it just local markets?... Good restaurants?....healthcare?.... Is English wifey spoken?... Could I learn Hindi by private tutor?. Would it be safe for me to go out alone without my husband?... Is it easy to hire some home help?, what are the chances of me getting someone who speaks English. Any advise, help it tips woulf be great. Is there an expat community there? Do they have meetings etc ( in China tbere was a two weekly get together or expat women and we would do events etc).

Any advise or help would be very much appreciated , thanks
Old Aug 1st 2013, 2:01 pm

bakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond reputebakedbean has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: help and advice british couple moving to pune