Why doesn't Oz want me??

Old May 12th 2008, 4:32 pm
Just Joined

helpmeescape is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Why doesn't Oz want me??

I am looking to emigrate with my bloke to Oz. As we are over 30 we cannot do the 12 month working visa, which would be ideal for us. Basically, we want to go over to 'try it out' - what is the best option for us? this is our set-up: we are 35 & 34, I have a law degree and for the past 7 yrs have worked self-employed as a law cost draftsman (preparing legal bills for solicitors to be assessed by the Court in default of agreement) for am classed as having my own business. I earn about £40K a year but am not sure if they have law cost draftsman in Oz. My bloke is a luthier (musical instrument repairer) and has worked for one employer for the past 10 years and has a diploma for this trade. His job is listed on the skills list for Oz on the assessment form, under 'tradesman, other'. I filled out the assessment form and got rejected as my job is not listed. I thought with a law degree and being 2 people with professional qualifications we would be in, but no luck. Ideally we want to go over for 6 months to see how it works out and, if it works, we will sell our house here which would give us enough for a substantial deposit on a house in Oz. We have no idea which bit of Oz would suit us as present. Sorry for the long post but I am confused!
Old May 12th 2008, 4:39 pm
ARGH! TRA Pathway D!

Joosy has a spectacular aura aboutJoosy has a spectacular aura aboutJoosy has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Why doesn't Oz want me??

How about saving up and just having a holiday? You could have a look round at houses/house prices, maybe make a few appointments with employers/make contacts etc?

I'm not very up on all the different types of visas etc, so sorry I can't offer more suggestions!!! Good luck!
Old May 12th 2008, 4:53 pm
Citizen Of The World