Student Visa to PR Again............!!

Old Sep 22nd 2008, 10:09 am
Forum Regular

Cathy Makin has a brilliant futureCathy Makin has a brilliant futureCathy Makin has a brilliant futureCathy Makin has a brilliant futureCathy Makin has a brilliant futureCathy Makin has a brilliant future
Default Student Visa to PR Again............!!

I am studying in Oz at the moment and have a friend who has just completed the same course as me, Diploma of Community Welfare Work, she has just found out that they have refused her PR visa! The reason they are giving is that the course does not meet the 2 year rule, even though we have been studying for 2 years? We have completed the cert 3 & 4 the first year and the Diploma is 1 year on top of that. I cannot understand this, but anyway she has to appeal now, which is costing her $1400 and she could be waiting up to 7 months for a decision! If they do not overturn their decision, she has no option but to go back to the UK.

Just like me she has made a life for herself out here with kids and was hoping to purchase a house as she has a job and was hoping things were about to get easier...... Has anybody out there had any similar experiences??

Obviously I am very concerned as I too have a family, I am going to continue with my studies at present and just hope for the best........
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 1:02 pm
Forum Regular

Jumpy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Student Visa to PR Again............!!

As long as the courses are CRICOS registered to cover 92 weeks of study,that will be enough to be considered a 2 yr course.The courses must be closely to the the welfare occupation. This is how I read the 2 yr study rule anyway .
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 9:08 pm
BE Enthusiast