Skills Select 189 visa and Skills Assement

Old Jan 9th 2013, 9:05 am
Just Joined

RaveOn is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Help Needed from Expat Families or Engineers

Hi,

I am looking for advice from families and/or engineers who have emigrated to Australia recently up to around 4 years ago.

I have been searching this and similar sites for a few days looking for advice on visa applications and i'm am a little confused mainly due to the jargon and which route to go down.

My situation is as follows:

*My partner and I are both 27, we have two kids at 4 and 5 yrs old.

*I have a 2:1 engineering degree, My partner will soon have an NVQ 3 in child care (her NVQ is not on the skills list)

*I have worked in the Nuclear Industry for just over 3 years since graduating as an Operations Engineer (I believe previous experience is not counted but I was a Maintenance Fitter before then)

* I plan to use the equity in our house to emigrate but it will be an all or nothing move, I don't have the cash to try a holiday first.

I believe my skill will be Engineering Technician and I will need to complete a skills assessment with Engineers Australia (my degree is not accredited by the engineering council and so does not come under the Washington/Sydney accord)

I have the following questions:

Where did you start with the visa process?

At this stage I don't really want my employer to know of my intent to emigrate, what did you use for references for the skills assesment? I have a few letters confirming my appointment into my job and for promotions etc.. will these and P60s suffice as evidence of employment?

How/where did you find work, was this easy compared to the UK (It is said that Aussie is booming and that engineers especially of all levels and disciplines are in high demand and are snapped up, is this a myth?)