Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Skills Assessment requirements for SubClass 175

Skills Assessment requirements for SubClass 175

Old Dec 21st 2009, 12:55 am
Just Joined

widehorizons is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Skills Assessment requirements for SubClass 175

Hi guys,
Well I had applied for a Canadian Permenant Residence back in January 2008 and till now my application has been in the pile of baackground checks. Its going to be 2 years soon. I dont think they have intentions to approve my applications so here I am thinking about lodging and an AUS migrant application.

This question for the those who have managed to obtain a positive skills assessment through ACS. I have a science degree (3 years) from a canadian university and 2 years of related work experience related to my nominated occupation (Computing Professionals). I would like to know if this is enough to get a positive assessment... if not what is the shortest route to get a positve assessment i.e. get more work experience or more education?
There is no way I can pursue a computer science degree cause really its not possible to pay international student fees.
I did check my score for subclass 175 and I get 135 to 145 depending if I score 50 or 60 for nominated occupation.

Looking forward to professional responses.
Old Dec 21st 2009, 2:01 am
Forum Regular

ejram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skills Assessment requirements for SubClass 175

To get a positive ACS assessment, you need 4 years full time work experience (if you graduate from an ICT major, otherwise, you need 6 years).

http://www.acs.org.au/index.cfm?acti...killguidelines
Old Dec 21st 2009, 2:03 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace