Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Secondary Applicant English Language Ability (merged threads)

Secondary Applicant English Language Ability (merged threads)

Old Mar 10th 2011, 5:36 am
Just Joined

charanjeetoberoi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Secondary Applicant English Language Ability (merged threads)

Hi!

I am an accountant from New Delhi, India. I got my positive skill assessment from CPA in Nov'09 & have also given my IELTS GT exam to get PR in Australia. My result will come out on 17th March'11 & I am expecting more than 7 in each component. I will file my application for visa 175 as soon as I get my result.

My wife is the secondary applicant & she did her IELTS GT exam in Nov'09 i.e. 16 months ago.

Can her IELTS TRF still be used to show that she has functional english?

Her score was

Listening: 5.5

Reading: 5.5

Writing: 5.5

Speaking: 7

My wife is a B Com (Pass) graduate and she did it from a regular college in New Delhi, India.

She studied all her subjects in English for 3 years when she was in college. Her degree & marksheets are in English but it is no where mentioned on her degree or marksheets that she completed her studies in English.

Please let me know that what evidence I can use to show her functional english?

With Regards
Charanjeet Singh Oberoi
Old Mar 10th 2011, 6:04 am
Forum Regular

funonrun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: English Requirement for secondary applicant?

The current IELTS score of your wife is enough to show functional english, DIAC requires minimum of 4 for secondary applicant. Provided its valid at the time of launching the application. Generally IELTS score are considered to be valid for 2 years from the date of giving the exam.

Best of Luck Mate !!
Old Mar 10th 2011, 6:15 am

adeel.zafar is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by funonrun