Wikiposts

newbie here, need advice regarding visas

Old Sep 9th 2011, 6:26 am
Just Joined

alextwilson is an unknown quantity at this point
Default newbie here, need advice regarding visas

Hello there. Thought this would be the best place to ask for any help/advice. I've had a glance on the immigrationwebsite but it all seems to be massive minefield messing with my head.

Right, the jist of it. I'm 23 and considering a move to Australia. Throughout my 'career' I've had part time/temp/summer work in retail/call centres/admin etc, and I'm currently employed by the Royal Mail on a casual contract. Boring.

My main confusion is looking over the Nominated Skills Occupation. My career aspirations are in the media, specifically radio. I have done student radio and am currently doing volunteer work on hospital radio to at least keep myself busy. Looking at the SOL (schedule 1 & 2) theres a few occupations I can consider appropriate to what I want to do. The most relevant qualification I have is a BTEC National Diploma in Media (I left university after year 2, unhappy with it). Am I fine with using SOL (schedule 1 & 2) if I were to apply for a 475?

Also looking at the points test for the 475, would my BTEC be eligible for 10 points by the Aussie authorities? I also have family out in Tasmania so I'm sure sponsorship there wouldn't be a problem for another 10. Obviously lining up a job would be a lot easier but I can't help but feel I won't be so lucky, hmm.

Any advice on which visa is best to apply for would be much appreciated. Somewhere down the line I've probably confused you all, ha.

Thanks!

Alex

Last edited by alextwilson; Sep 9th 2011 at 6:30 am.
Old Sep 9th 2011, 10:42 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace