Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Going on 457-what chance of getting PR when over 45?

Going on 457-what chance of getting PR when over 45?

Old Jun 15th 2006, 11:05 pm
Just Joined

nisa-bun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Going on 457-what chance of getting PR when over 45?

Hello everybody

My husband and I are wanting to move permanently. I am a nurse and I am able to get to Oz on a 457 visa. However we want to be sure that we can stay. My recruiter tells me that the hospital will sponsor me for PR when we get there...but I am not convinced. Two questions:

1) Is the hospital likely to go to the trouble of applying for PR for me (and if not, could I do it myself?)

2) And as an old duck of 45+ would I qualify for PR anyway?

We want to go to Oz but not if it means being so restricted by a temporary visa and uprooting again in 4 years time.

Anybody else gone through this?

Yours

Nisa
Old Jun 16th 2006, 12:22 am
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Going on 457-what chance of getting PR when over 45?

Originally Posted by nisa-bun
Hello everybody

My husband and I are wanting to move permanently. I am a nurse and I am able to get to Oz on a 457 visa. However we want to be sure that we can stay. My recruiter tells me that the hospital will sponsor me for PR when we get there...but I am not convinced. Two questions:

1) Is the hospital likely to go to the trouble of applying for PR for me (and if not, could I do it myself?)