Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Fridgie & Sparkies Beware!!! A Friendly Warning!

Fridgie & Sparkies Beware!!! A Friendly Warning!

Old Apr 18th 2008, 7:49 pm
Just Joined

asskwoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Fridgie & Sparkies Beware!!! A Friendly Warning!

Hi Everyone who reads this, don't worry too much but there are a few things you need to know about the regulations over here.

Anyone who got their Pre-Migration done by TRA before it changed to Vetasses.

I'm a Fridgie by trade and got my pre-migration TRA acceptance done before I moved over here and thought that was all I needed to get my licenses applied for.
It isn't! you need to get your trade qualifications & EXPERIENCE assessed by the TRA but by a seperate area on differant forms you may even need a skills assessment done by yet another agency before you get your Australian Recognised Trade Certificate, which then allows you to apply for your license!

Fridgies - you need your Arctick License which is similar to your CITB safe handling for CFC's, HCFC's & HFC's. Hydrocarbons are seperately regulated and natural refrigerants unlicensed (yes even ammonia but you need trade papers to work with it!) currently it cost $100 fr 3 years and you pay for it not the employer.

Sparkies and Fridgies - you need an Electrical License (Fridgies a Restricted License) you will have to go to college to have your skills assessed to get it, but you need your ARTC to even yet a permit to study!!!! also it costs $100 for 5 years, again you have to pay for it!

Employers also have differant ideas about what tools you provide & they provide so make sure you check with them first.
e.g in the UK my firms all supplied gauges, hoses, flaring/swaging tools and electrical work tools (i.e Crimpers) that were necessary to the trade. Over here they are all classed as hand tools! Which you must supply!!