Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Does seperation in relationship matter for joint application?

Does seperation in relationship matter for joint application?

Old Feb 3rd 2011, 7:14 pm
Forum Regular

smithyrocks is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Does seperation in relationship matter for joint application?

I am a secondary teacher with 5 years experience, I have taken the points test and would be eligible (according to the website) for a perm skills visa (a 175/ 6 I think?)

I have a son (6) and a partner (primary teacher, just completing PGCE), we are togather and he is on the birth certificate. He will be travelling on my Visa as he would only achieve 115 points due to age (31) and lack of working experience.

My question is this: will it matter for Visa purposes if we were sepereated for 4 years during the last 6 (we have been together 9 in total but 4 of these we were seperated). I wasn't sure if this was even a factor/ worth mentioning? I'm not sure what paperwork would need to be provided/ if we would need to 'prove' our relationship as we are not married. Hope that all makes sense.
Old Feb 3rd 2011, 7:43 pm
Forum Regular

dl4e is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Does seperation in relationship matter for joint application?

Originally Posted by smithyrocks
I am a secondary teacher with 5 years experience, I have taken the points test and would be eligible (according to the website) for a perm skills visa (a 175/ 6 I think?)

I have a son (6) and a partner (primary teacher, just completing PGCE), we are togather and he is on the birth certificate. He will be travelling on my Visa as he would only achieve 115 points due to age (31) and lack of working experience.