Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

Choosing the right ASCO Code - Accountant or Finance Manager?

Choosing the right ASCO Code - Accountant or Finance Manager?

Old Apr 27th 2002, 9:30 am
Max

Default Choosing the right ASCO Code - Accountant or Finance Manager?

Guys, thanks for helping me out on choosing the skills assesment body
- since I do have my university degree in accounting I guess I'll go for AICPA which
seems to be more accessible. But currently I have a different problem to cope with
- the right definition of ASCO Code. I am an accountant education-wise (BA in
Accounting and a fellow member of Israeli CPA Institute) but for the last 4 years I
have been working as an Assistant Finance Manager ( I've also been refered to as
Financial Controller) in an advertising company dealing with a lot of issues EXCEPT
external audit (the company has an external auditor who does only that - confirming
the company's yearly financial statements that I take part in preparing). My
question is whether the ASCO Code 2211-11 (Accountant) refers to EXTERNAL AUDITORS
ONLY and therefore I should apply under Finance Manager (Code 1211-11) if I want to
get my 10 points for work experience. On the other hand, if I apply under
Accountant I get 5 extra points for being on the MODL List. Either way I have the
required 110 points but I want to do the right thing - to have the best chances of
getting my permanent visa without misleading the DIMA even by mistake concerning
the right ASCO Code Nomination.

Thanks a lot!

Old Apr 27th 2002, 10:00 am
Jaj

Default Re: Choosing the right ASCO Code - Accountant or Finance Manager?

Hi Max

'Accountant' - ASCO code 2211-11 is not the same as 'Accountant - External Auditor'
which is ASCO code 2212-11.

The assessing authorities do not make a distinction between the educational