BCS Chartered versus RPL

Old Aug 11th 2004, 1:06 pm
Just Joined

oakton is an unknown quantity at this point
Red face BCS Chartered versus RPL

Hi,
I have 8 years good experience in IT Security and another 3 which i am finding it difficult to get good references from.

I know to go ACS RPL route I need 6 years for 60 points basic requirement as I dont have a degree.

I am also a member of the british computer society, i am in the process of going for Chartered membership of the BCS and that the ACS consider this equivilent to a degree and that RPL is no longer necessary should I have this in time.

My question is that if I have BCS chartered instead of doing RPL do they still take off 2 years experience, i.e. need 6 years still for basic requirement (deeming date) or will 4 years suffice?

If I still need 6 years then I wont have an extra 3 good years for 10 points work experience

Any advice appreciated!!!

QUESTION 2:-
To complete the RPL I have seen people state that you shouldn't just fill in the form but write the RPL in a separate document. If this is the case what do you put in the form fields, merely keep stating 'refer to RPL document' or put a subsection of the data, or leave it blank?
Old Aug 11th 2004, 7:12 pm
What's happening dudes?

wmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond reputewmoore has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: BCS Chartered versus RPL

Originally Posted by oakton
My question is that if I have BCS chartered instead of doing RPL do they still take off 2 years experience, i.e. need 6 years still for basic requirement (deeming date) or will 4 years suffice?