900 hours problem, I need help

Old Mar 24th 2008, 8:08 am
Just Joined

LUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant futureLUIS 9 has a brilliant future
Default 900 hours problem, I need help

Hello everyone:

I'm an international student currently enrolled in a Certificate III/Diploma of Manufacturing course at Holmesglen TAFE in Melbourne, which is 2 years long.

I started my course in February and, as I was recommended, I'm trying to start working in the field as soon as possible in order to start accumulating the infamous 900 hours of related work experience.
The course is not difficult at all for me because I have a Bachelor degree in Physics and I have also taken some Engineering subjects during my career.

The problem I have is that it is VERY HARD to find a part-time job in this field. I actually used the Holmesglen's Workplacement service to find out that it is completely unefficient.

The first thing they told me in the agency AFTER I HAD ALREADY PAID THE $275 FEE was the they were specialized in finding full-time jobs, not part-time, which is completely ridiculous as it is well known to everyone that International Students cannot work in a full-time basis during the course.

They sent me to a company that wanted someone to work on the CAD Draftings, but the employer told me that they were looking for someone who could work in a full-time basis.

The next day I called the Agency and their answer was literally "IT IS VERY HARD LUIS".

Right now I'm very worried and anguished because it is really hard to find a part-time job in the field. That TRA requirement only makes life difficult for International Students.
Maybe they should provide a special VISA in which we would be able to work sometime before applyling for PR.