189 for nurses POINTS

Old Sep 25th 2013, 4:31 am
Just Joined

sazzleblonde1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy 189 for nurses POINTS

IN A PICKLE!!

Ok, I am near to lodging my 189 application but I want to clarify a few things before I go ahead. wouldnt want to be wasting $3000! The questions are in relation to nursing but anyone who has knowledge of the process can answer them as they relate to any skilled migrant.

1. I have sat 2 IELTS tests this year (yes i know).
In test one I got 8/8/9/6.5
In test two I got 8/8/8/7.5

Now both give me an overall of 8(which is fine) but I know it is based on 'individual scores' so brings me down to 7 (correct?) on the Australian points system. Which effectively means only 10 points as appose to 20. My question is will immigration accept both my test scores and take the highest scores from both or can I only submit one?

2. Employment history. Ah good old work. Basically i have been a nurse for 5 years. I have 3 years UK history and 1 year australian history (plus one year off for travelling). Sounds good. eligible for points you think? well......

Of the 1 year in australia I have evidence of all my working hours. however i read that they want formal references from employers regarding specific nursing duties(this is the bit thats nurse related). My employer from one job has provided a very basic reference and will provide no more. will they accept this? are they strict on this even if i have evidence of hours?

I have a similar problem in the UK aspect. I have 2 full years accounted for- hours and in depth references. however my 3rd year is a similar situation to australia. the company i worked for wont provide an in depth reference. Only a statement of hours.

Now if Immigration dont accept this I stand to loose 10 points in this arena which is not good given i also stand to loose 10 in IELTS.

I will also mention I have a recent approved skills assessment for my nursing qualification.