Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > Immigration, Visas & Citizenship (Australia)
Reload this Page >

139 subclass/ACS/recent experience---how should I Proceed?

139 subclass/ACS/recent experience---how should I Proceed?

Old Jan 24th 2006, 4:09 am
Forum Regular

dipto is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 139 subclass/ACS/recent experience---how should I Proceed?

Hello everyone,

I am an analyst programmer with 1.5 years of experience. I have a British Batchelors/Master Degree in Computing.

As I don't have 4 years of IT experience ,I know that I can NOT apply for ACS assessment. So I have thought of the undermentioned pathways to follow to apply for the 139 subclass visa[my brother will sponsor me-who leaves in Tasmania]

1. as point requirement for 139 subclass is less, I don't have to nominate
a 60 point occupation [IT related occupation-which would require ACS
assesment]

2. instead- I would choose any 50 point occupation and get it assessed by
VETASSESS.[I am in the process of doing this]

3. my confusion is that- while lodging the application to DIMIA, could I show
this 1.5 years of IT experience as 'recent work experience'. if so, do I
have to provide an ACS assessment for this.
As I am NOT claiming 60 points for my nominated occupation and only
intent to use my IT experience to fulfil the 'recent work experience' clause.
-is there any need for an ACS assessment[I understand that skills
assessment is required for 'nominated occupation' only].

4. is it allowed to choose nominated occupation from a 50 point catagory and
to show recent work experience from a 60 point catagory?

could someone please guide me with the above points.

cheers

dipto

Old Jan 24th 2006, 7:42 am
BE Enthusiast