Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Looking for advice - visa application failing.

Looking for advice - visa application failing.

Old Jul 5th 2007, 12:24 pm
Just Joined

shocker will become famous soon enoughshocker will become famous soon enough
Default Looking for advice - visa application failing.

I'm wondering if anyone on here can provide advice, as to what I should do next.

I work as a junior doctor in the UK (and I'm a UK citizen). I've been applying since February with a recruitment agency, and I've had a gruelling interview and so on. Now, I will be starting, in mid-August 2007, in a hospital in NZ. I have a letter of offer, my medical council registration is through and OK. The agency originally said 'we will tell you what to do, and guide you every step of the way'.

about 2 months ago, they said 'you don't need a police check, because you only need this if you are going for emigration to NZ'. (I'm applying for a work visa, which will be for a few years).

Now, they are saying 'you do need a police check'. I have found out that it will take 6 weeks to get this And my visa application hasn't been sent off yet, and I would actually be flying out in 4 weeks from now, to start in mid-August.

The agency have said that I should attach the receipt for the police check, and they will give me a temporary visa while the police check comes through.

I phoned NZIS (they didn't ask for my name), who say that the police check is needed for the visa to even be considered.

Any advice on what I should do? The job can't be delayed, and, I have not applied for any further jobs in the UK (as this was a firm, guaranteed job offer). I can't book flights yet until I know I can go (money is very tight), and flight prices are rising every day.

Help!
Old Jul 5th 2007, 1:24 pm
duckfoot