Getting started

Old Aug 27th 2008, 2:28 pm
Just Joined

techie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant futuretechie has a brilliant future
Cool Getting started

Hi everybody,

This is my first attempt at this, so please be gentle with me. Can anyone out there help me please as we seem to keep coming up against brick walls or very expensive (and probably useless) answers to our questions!

We are a family of 5 (Mum, Dad and 3 kids) wanting to go to NZ. I am a secondary teacher which is recognized as a skills shortage. My wife is a youth development worker and the kids are all at school. My daughter has cerebral palsy and is in good health, but relies on us for basic needs. My wife also has diabetes, which is very well controlled and she is presently reducing her medication.

Now maybe it's me, but I can't seem to find answers to simple questions. I have looked on so many web sites I'm dizzy - mainly because they seem to be sending me round in circles!! What I want to know is;

1. Is this whole thing possible, or are we chasing an unrealistic dream with our family circumstances?
2. Do I need a job offer to apply for a skills shortage residence?
3. Would we need to go on a temporary working visa first then 'convert' to PR?
4. If we did that what are the chances of being turfed out at the end of the temporary time? (is this a risky strategy?)
5. How long is this whole process likely to take?
6. Do we have to provide proof of liquid assets? (All of our money is tied up in property that would need to be sold.)

Well there's a few things to think about! I would really appreciate any help anyone can give on any of these points. Surly we're not the only ones with these type of 'difficulties'?

Thanks Shaun
Old Aug 27th 2008, 3:05 pm
Forum Regular