Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Want to move to Canada, where do I begin?

Want to move to Canada, where do I begin?

Old Jul 20th 2014, 4:55 am
Just Joined

dhillon884 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Want to move to Canada, where do I begin?

Probably a very common thread on here - but I would like to move to Canada, but just don't know where to start.

I'm 30, now divorced and would like to move alone. I have a masters degree (gave up my Phd) and work as a Senior consultant within IT (strategy / transformation... not techy) and Project manager for a consultancy firm. I have 3 years experience in this field and a further couple of years of experience working at university. I'm healthy, no criminal record and British born and bred.

I have relatives in Vancouver and Toronto - cousins and aunts.

I called a few sites you find on google and although good, they sound a bit salesy. Points on unofficial sites suggest I have enough - is it out of 67? I get about 75.

But on the official site, my suitability (without a job offer) always comes up with a 'not suitable'.

One of these sites I called said they will find me a job - now I aint sure about how they would do that but he gave a good pitch. I am trying my contacts in Toronto but with no success atm as they won't hire me because I can't work there.

My job does semi fall under the Information Systems Consultant - which is on the 'list' - but I don't know how that would work. Otherwise I hope my job is professional enough to move and join a firm over there.

Where do I begin and what path should I choose?

If I have a job offer - for example say I somehow meet a hiring manager willing to sponsor me - how long would it take to get there...

Is there any chance I can get there without a job offer?
Old Jul 20th 2014, 5:46 am
Bon Vivant