Trying to start our life

Old Aug 19th 2011, 9:54 am
Just Joined

katemaddy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Trying to start our life

Hello,
me and my partner of 5 years want to move to canada to live and work. I am a graduate photographer and he is a sports coach. My partner has been to canada last summer for three months to volunteer in a football coaching scheme and loved it so much he wants us to move out there. The problem i am having is where do we start? We both have degrees in sport science and editorial and advertisement photography so we would like to get jobs in these areas. My partner also has family in St. Catharine's which we stayed with in 2009 for three weeks, they are second cousins so we are unsure they can sponsor us. I am wondering if anyone has any advice as to how to start this process and if we can get working visas and then change our status if we want to stay there permanently? Any advise would be great.
Old Aug 19th 2011, 10:09 am
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Trying to start our life

Hi there, and welcome to the forum.

The family you have in Canada are no use to you I'm afraid, second cousins (or even first cousins or an aunt or uncle) cannot sponsor you.

You could try and upgrade a Temp Work Permit to Permanent Residency, the trickiest bit will be getting the TWP to start with.

Have either of you been self-employed for at least 2 years in the past 5 by any chance? What age are you both and which province to you want to move to?