Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Temp work permit checklist for POE

Temp work permit checklist for POE

Old Jan 11th 2013, 3:19 pm
Forum Regular

biggayowl is a jewel in the roughbiggayowl is a jewel in the roughbiggayowl is a jewel in the roughbiggayowl is a jewel in the rough
Default Temp work permit checklist for POE

I just had my LMO approved and am intending to obtain a TWP at the port of entry (Vancouver). I've got a couple of queries regarding the required documents for immigration.

Firstly does the employer's job offer letter need to state anything specific, beyond my name, the capacity I'll be employed in and salary?

Do I need to bring the original LMO or will a scanned copy suffice?

My partner is accompanying me and will be applying for a spousal work permit (my profession is Skill Level A on the NOC). Do we need to complete the Statutory Declaration of Common-Law Union (IMM 5409) form? We can supply supporting docs - tenancy agreement, bank accounts etc, but was wondering if the form was still necessary or how stringent the custom's officials are?

Would appreciate any advice from people who have entered Canada this way. Thanks.
Old Jan 11th 2013, 6:25 pm
Forum Regular

sudha is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Temp work permit checklist for POE

You need the Original Work Permit at the border and usually with approved LMO, you will have very easy time to get the WP processed.

Make sure you take the originals of the Certificates too along with the Resume. Border officer still needs them.
Old Jan 11th 2013, 9:23 pm

fabretti18 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by sudha
You need the Original Work Permit
is the WP not the very thing being sought at the border?
Old Jan 12th 2013, 1:55 pm
Forum Regular

venrichard is an unknown quantity at this point