Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Quick question about flagpoling from IEC year 1 to year 2

Quick question about flagpoling from IEC year 1 to year 2

Old Sep 8th 2013, 12:25 am
Just Joined

london-to-toronto is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Quick question about flagpoling from IEC year 1 to year 2

Hi all, newbie here.

Quick question: my first year IEC work permit expires on Sep 20th, so I need to do a flagpole (already have my LOI, etc.). My question is, what day should I do it on - the 20th, or the 21st? Not sure it even matters, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. Thanks folks.
Old Sep 9th 2013, 12:00 pm
BE Forum Addict

DandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond reputeDandNHill has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Quick question about flagpoling from IEC year 1 to year 2

Originally Posted by london-to-toronto
Hi all, newbie here.

Quick question: my first year IEC work permit expires on Sep 20th, so I need to do a flagpole (already have my LOI, etc.). My question is, what day should I do it on - the 20th, or the 21st? Not sure it even matters, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. Thanks folks.
IMO if you wait until 21st you effectively have no medical cover as you don't have a legal status from 12:01am... So I would do it on 20th. But I might be totally wrong... probably am!
Old Sep 9th 2013, 12:42 pm
The ride never ends