Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Pensioner wanting to move to Canada

Pensioner wanting to move to Canada

Old Feb 15th 2023, 7:46 am
Just Joined

steviewinder546 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Pensioner wanting to move to Canada

Hello.
im new here and was advised by a moderator to start a thread on this page?

to recap, wife and I are 65 but still working and want to move to Canada.

I have over 25 years experience working in the MOD in the uk, as well as admin work done in banks and financial services.

however, due to my age, I wouldn’t think anyone would employ me in Canada so we would want to retire there on our pensions.

we both have company pensions as well as the government pension.

I’ve done a little research on this and found it could be the proverbial worms in a tin can, as I realised wife is on hypertension medication which is free here in the uk, but in Canada the cost for prescriptions could eat up our pensions!

then of course there’s the question of on what base do we apply to enter Canada?

we do have kids already there but as someone kindly advised, it’s a lottery situation for sponsorship!

could anybody advise please, especially about the medical side if this? Would we be covered in full by the health care there or would we need to pay?

thank you in advance.

Old Feb 15th 2023, 12:11 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Pensioner wanting to move to Canada