Oppurtunities for Doctors???

Old Jun 19th 2001, 5:49 am
jac

I am planning to land in Canada in the month fo April next. I am a Doctor from India.
I am interested to know what are the courses / tests or entrance exams to be taken so
that I become eligible to practice as a doctor in Canada. What are the oppurtunities
for a doctor in Canada? What are the jobs (in medical field),I will be eligible for,
as soon as I land there?

Thankx in advance for the informations

Ash

Old Jun 19th 2001, 4:32 pm
Gloria

[email protected] (jac)
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

HI ASH, I am canadian living in the states right now...but do we need doctors in
Canada OHHHHH YESSSSSS real bad.YOU will have no problem landing a job.I know where i
am from Doctors are needed bad,that would be Cape Breton Island,beautiful place just
that doctors don't like to live in a country they want cities.Just wanted to say i am
happy reading that some doctors do want to work in canada Gloria

Old Jun 19th 2001, 6:23 pm
Serguei Patchkovskii

[email protected] (jac)
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

>
    >

He (she? I am really bad at guessing the gender of Indian names) will most certainly
_have_ a problem landing a doctor's, or even a nurse's job - despite the very real
shortage of doctors and nurses in Canada. Canadian medical licensing system is biased
against medical professionals, who were educated outside of Canada, U.S., and a
handful of other countries. Before being able to practice medicine, he (she) will
have to pass multiple exams (none of them easy), and to re-do his (her) internship at
a canadian hospital. Tha latter step seems to present a real problem - according to
press reports, the number of internships, open to foreign-educated doctors, is small,
and getting one is difficult. Until the last year, the total number of intern
positions, opening in Alberta every year, was equal to the sum total of medical