NOC Codes - Discussion

Old Apr 23rd 2015, 12:44 pm
Forum Regular

kswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond reputekswoosh has a reputation beyond repute
Default NOC Codes - Discussion

I'd like help with my NOC code, but also want to open up a discussion... When trying to decide what your NOC code is, which factor is more important?

Job Title
Duties
Salary
Qualifications

Job Title
My job title doesn't exist in NOC codes. I'm a Collateral Analyst.
I found 'Margin Calculation Clerk" under 1434, which would fit the area of work that I do, but only relates to one specific part of my job, an area which doesn't make up much of my day-to-day business.

A small part of my job is to process margin calls, so 'margin calculation clerk' does sound correct, but I think clerk seems to low grade.

Duties
Unfortunately, there's no description of Margin Calculation Clerk, and the description under 1434 describes mostly retail bank duties, of which none relate to my job.

The most duties I can match is 3/6 for 1311 (Accounting Technicians and Bookkeepers). Problem is, that job title doesn't match my job title at all. The closest would be "Financial Officer", but that's a stretch. I'm definitely not a bookkeeper, but I do perform accounting tasks, which form the bulk of my work.

However, there are also 3/6 that don't match my job, and there are duties that I perform that don't match the list.

Salary
Looking at the data on Job Bank, my salary is WAY above the National average for 1434, which comes in at $17/hr. I am earning over $40/hr (£24/hr).