Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Moving to Canada to be self-employed?

Moving to Canada to be self-employed?

Old Nov 1st 2013, 12:20 pm
Just Joined

jcwacky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Canada to be self-employed?

I currently live in Edinburgh with my partner, who has been offered a job in Canada, and we are looking into what's involved in moving over there.

The complication that we have is that I am a self-employed web developer, and I'm struggling to find information on whether I'd still be allowed to continue my work for British clients from Canada, and also what would be involved in obtaining the correct documentation to be able to work for any potential new Canadian clients. Along with how easy either of these would be to do.

Some further info:
I've been self-employed full time for 3 years, but have 11 years experience in total.
I currently have a bachelor’s level university degree.
We are both 28 years old.

Any advice on where to start would be much appreciated. I've looked though the self employed information at cic.gc.ca but it only seems to mention cultural activities, farming & athletics. And I couldn't find any info about continuing to work for UK clients.

Many thanks!
James
Old Nov 1st 2013, 12:59 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Former Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to Canada to be self-employed?