Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Humanitarian & Compassionate grounds...

Humanitarian & Compassionate grounds...

Old Jul 9th 2001, 9:35 pm
austenhealeySPAMLESS

I am British, my boyfriend of 4 years is a Canadian citizen, we live in the UK.
Although I am a computer programmer, I cannot qualify as an Independent immigrant any
which way I look at it, as I have no degree and only 18 months experience. If we were
to continue to reside in the UK, we wouldn't necessarily be considering marriage -
but it seems that is our (my) only option in going to Canada.

If anyone has any suggestions as to an alternative route of entry, notably some
advice about under what types of circumstance people are generally granted PR on
humanitarian and compassionate grounds, I would be *so* grateful. I fully appreciate
the role marriage plays in the 'proof' of a relationship, but there's no denying that
we would mainly/only be doing it in order for me to gain entry via spousal
sponsorship, which makes me a little uncomfortable..!

I guess I am thinking along the lines of entering as a visitor; applying from within
- is that possible? And if I receive an AIP, I can work?

It's not my first choice; I would much prefer to have things wrapped up before
leaving, but I am getting to the point where I am willing to investigate anything
if it means I can instigate proceedings in moving to somewhere that already feels
like home...

Thanks for listening, Claire

Old Jul 10th 2001, 4:39 pm
Paul

I am british and my fiancee is canadian. We too were both working in london and then
both of us flew to canada in may. I went in on a visitors visa. We are marrying in
september and then will apply for PR from within. The humanitarian and compassionate
grounds are usually the fact that you are now married and it would be too much stress
to split husband and wife up. they ask you why you can't apply in your own country.