Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Help please, questions on work experience

Help please, questions on work experience

Old Jan 16th 2011, 6:52 pm
AB/SK

Claren is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help please, questions on work experience

Hi, 2 parts to this question so please bear with me!!
Me, my wife and 1 yr old son are looking to emigrate to Canada.
I have 6 years experience as a maintenance supervisor but was made redundant 2 years ago. The company I was employed with have gone bust and no longer exist. Since I had no formal qualifications I decided to go to college and do a plumbing NVQ, I have my level 2 and am now on my level 3 and will finish July(ish) 2011.

As a maintenance supervisor I looked after 12 sites throughout the Uk doing emergency and pre planned work, this could be anything from painting,carpentry, plumbing, basic electrics, building works etc. Basically anything that needed doing on site I would arrange to get done ,or do it myself if on site.

My questions are;
Can I use my experience as Maintenance supervisor towards my work experience? I would prefer to apply as a plumber and most of my work involved plumbing even though I was responsible for all maintenance.
If not would this experience cover me to apply in category 7216 "contractors and supervisors mechanical trades"

As I previously said the company I worked for no longer exist, however I have pay slips and can get a reference from my previous manager to say what I did and for how long, would this suffice as evidence of work experience?

No doubt this will be a long and weary road we have decided to travel and hopefully this forum will give us hope

kind regards
Old Jan 16th 2011, 7:59 pm
SUPER MODERATOR