Help, numerous questions!!!!!!!!!

Old Jul 1st 2004, 12:10 pm
Just Joined

Lucy Clarke is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help, numerous questions!!!!!!!!!

Hi,
My husband and I, are 25 years old, English and are looking into emmigrating to Canada, probably Toronto, and we have a few questions we would like answering as it seems everywhere else we look, all the answers are very non commital to say the least.
1. I have a psychology degree and am currently studying for a diploma in nursing, specifically learning disabilities. I have heard that these qualifications are not recognised in Canada, and i would have to retrain for x amount of years to come up to scratch, is that true?
2. My husband is a Police Officer, but would obvioulsy have to become a citizen before applying to join a Force in Canada. He is currently qualifying to become a personal trainer/ fitness instructor. Are there jobs in that field?
3. He is also toying with the idea of taking his French A level. Is that recommended? Is it recognised as a qualification?
4. My great Aunt and Uncle live in Toronto and are Canadian citizens, they are willing to sponsor us, but I have a feeling because I am married and they are a 'distant relative category' would they be able to?
5. If they were, do they have to make the application first?
6. When applying, do you have to prove you have sufficient funds at the time of the application? We will have sufficient money if we get approved, as the sale of our house will give us more than enough, but at the moment with me being a student, that sort of cash is not free flowing!!?
Muchos questions I know, but nowhere seems to tell you like it is.
Your replies will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old Jul 1st 2004, 4:37 pm
Forum Regular

MadHatters will become famous soon enoughMadHatters will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Help, numerous questions!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by Lucy Clarke
Hi,