Health insurance for new IEC

Old Apr 6th 2015, 6:00 pm
Forum Regular

pilky01 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Health insurance for new IEC

Hi learned people,

I've been in Canada almost a year, and Im waiting for my LOI that allows me to extend my stay. A question about insurance: ive been working in Toronto full time for around 3 months, and from what I've heard, I'll be eligible for OHIP once I've worked for 6 months. That being the case, would I get away with only having a few months of bought insurance to cover those months when I activate my new work permit? When I landed last year I came with just 4 months insurance (because I honestly didn't think I'd be in Canada any longer than that) and the woman at customs hardly even gave it a glance. This time, with more at stake, I'm concerned that I'll get some over zealous customs official.

Also on that subject, does anyone know the best way to get cover whilst still in canada?
Old Apr 6th 2015, 6:11 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Former Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Health insurance for new IEC

Why are CBSA officers in your eyes over zealous when a MANDATORY provision of the IEC is that you have medical coverage to cover you for the duration of your stay. No Provincial coverage includes repatriation which is the main part of your coverage unless you fancy paying thousands for your own medivac flight.