Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Girlfriend wants to extend her visitor visa - what are our options?

Girlfriend wants to extend her visitor visa - what are our options?

Old Oct 1st 2017, 2:21 am
Forum Regular

Jpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of lightJpod is a glorious beacon of light
Default Girlfriend wants to extend her visitor visa - what are our options?

Hi all,

I am a Canadian permanent resident and have been living out here for 18 months. My girlfriend (we met in the UK, she is a UK citizen) has been living with me here for the past 4 months and she wishes to extend her stay here by 6 months.

Is the best option in terms of a successful application to apply online from within Canada or return to the UK for a short period of time before coming back out here? The waiting time for online application decisions is 112 days but you get implied visitor status after the application has been received.

On the application form (IMM5708) to extend a visitor visa it asks what her current marital status is. Should my girlfriend choose (a) single or (b) common-law union? We have been living together here since June 1st but my understanding is that a common-law union requires having lived together for at least 1 year and demonstrating financial commitments to each other e.g a shared lease/mortgage/bank account.

There is also a question on the form that asks for the name, address, and relationship of any person or institution she will visit. We're not sure what this question is asking - does this include details of my friends who we visited together during her stay?