Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Australian Migrating to the UK. Is it a good thing?

Wikiposts

Australian Migrating to the UK. Is it a good thing?

Old Jun 16th 2002, 8:23 pm
Just Joined

gopijags is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Australian Migrating to the UK. Is it a good thing?

I know this is not the right forum to post this - but I am seeing a lot of Brits wanting to leave the shores of England.

Well, I have recently been awarded the Highly Skilled Migrant Status (HSMP) to the UK. This is a Permanant Residency status
given to people who are highly skilled in their profession, a new scheme introduced by the UK.

My background is in IT and I have 7 years of Experience with the Big 5 and I earn over a 100K Aussie Dollars.

After receiving this residency award, I am asking myself if I should move with my family to the UK.

My only concerns are the cost of living and the standard of living in the UK. From what I see, most of the Permanant jobs in IT pay only around 35-45 Pounds/Annum. How does this salary equate to someone earning 100K in Australia? Using the conversion rate ot 2.6 - 40,000 British Pounds = 100,000 Australian Dollars.

My question to all of you Elite Brits is, does 40,000 Pounds Annual Salary, get you a decent house in Outer London/ Rest of UK, and a decent car and a decent lifestyle to support a wife a 2 kids. I mean can one save anything after having a mortgage?

The only reason I want to move to the UK, is because, I want to give my kids a good British Education, which has always been so cherished to me. And also it is an opportunity of a lifetime to work in that part of the world. And surely a UK Permanant Residency opens so many new opportunities in Europe and the United States. And if I get into Contracting in the UK I can also make a good 300-400 Pounds/day.