Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

anyone with degree level french....??

anyone with degree level french....??

Old Mar 18th 2009, 10:54 am
Forum Regular

goodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant futuregoodpikey has a brilliant future
Default anyone with degree level french....??

just wondering if there is anyone there who is currently immigrating or has immigrated that is a native english speaker but who has also claimed points for high or intermediate level french.
did you take the language proficiency test?

i did my degree in french and spanish and until this morning i thought i could just use my degree certificate and a short letter saying that i lived in france as part of my studies to claim points for french.

the thought of having to take a french test having not used my french for more than 3 years is a bit daunting, not too mention the cost of getting to a testing centre and pay forthe exam. (i think the test centres are only in england but i'm unsure. i'm in n.ireland.)

has anyone first hand experience of this?

many thanks
Old Mar 18th 2009, 6:23 pm
Just Joined

Davyjcrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: anyone with degree level french....??

Hi

Myself and my wife are currently in the process of applying for PR and we both have degree level french. We were advised to take the TEF test and did so a couple of weeks ago, still waiting on the results.

It stated in the literature from CIC that they strongly advise that you submit test results from an approved body (ie TEF for French) with your application if you're not a native speaker - to be honest maybe they would accept a degree certificate with a letter instead, but we didn't know this for sure and so didn't want to take that risk.