Wifi router

Old Sep 25th 2013, 4:38 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 36
raybona is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Wifi router

When I get an internet provider, do they give you a free wifi router, or is it best I take mine with me?

Thanks
raybona is offline  
Old Sep 25th 2013, 5:36 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Pollypaprika's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 873
Pollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of lightPollypaprika is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Wifi router

Originally Posted by raybona View Post
When I get an internet provider, do they give you a free wifi router, or is it best I take mine with me?

Thanks
T-Home provided us with one, but we also bought a better one. If you have a good one, you may as well bring it with you...its always good to have a spare I find
Pollypaprika is offline  
Old Sep 25th 2013, 7:17 pm
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
fidobsa's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: North east Croatia
Posts: 1,566
fidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Wifi router

I wish you luck if you do bring one from UK. I remember upgrading from a broadband modem to a wifi router in UK and it took me about a week to get all the settings and security stuff in order. I also got one with T Home and it works fine, guests have even picked up the wifi out in the garden. The broadband is also much more reliable than I had with Tiscali / Talk-Talk in UK.
fidobsa is offline  
Old Sep 25th 2013, 8:34 pm
  #4  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Budapest
Posts: 6
Pandem is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wifi router

I was not the one to set up the service, but back when we registered with UPC, we were told if we wanted a wireless router, we would have to rent it from them for a monthly fee. Base fee only included a basic cable modem.
Pandem is offline  
Old Sep 26th 2013, 6:41 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 306
cathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond reputecathyg has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Wifi router

With UPC and had to buy our router. Just went to our local Tesco and picked one up. It was very easy to install. I too think the broadband connection here is good and upc are currently upgrading internet speeds for free.
cathyg is offline  
Old Sep 26th 2013, 7:36 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 297
richardmc has a spectacular aura aboutrichardmc has a spectacular aura aboutrichardmc has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Wifi router

My T-Home router works fine also
richardmc is offline  
Old Sep 26th 2013, 11:40 am
  #7  
Just Joined
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Somogy, Hungary
Posts: 14
Alkin is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wifi router

T-Home provided me with an ADSL modem, I used a router brought from the UK to create a Wi-Fi network.

When I moved house, the house was already connected to the T-Home cable TV system (which I didn't need), but my new T-home internet connection was via the cable (rather than phone) network, they installed a 4-port-plus-WiFi Cablenet router.

Be Aware: T-Home left the WiFi enabled (even though at the time I was using wired connections only) and even worse, didn't set up any WiFi encryption, It's worth checking, as you may not only be providing free internet access to half the people in your street, but there are some fairly scary security implications in having your machine(s) connected to a publicly accessible open network.

bru
Alkin is offline  
Old Sep 26th 2013, 12:42 pm
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
fidobsa's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: North east Croatia
Posts: 1,566
fidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond reputefidobsa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Wifi router

They did set mine up with a security code which they wrote on the router box.
fidobsa is offline  
Old Sep 26th 2013, 1:12 pm
  #9  
I bite my thumb at thee
 
Rural Hungary's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,479
Rural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond reputeRural Hungary has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Wifi router

Mine was set up with one as well and I had the router access details so I could easily change it myself.
Rural Hungary is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.