Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia > India > Goa
Reload this Page >

Thinking of buying...

Thinking of buying...

Old Jun 28th 2014, 7:35 am
Just Joined

Puertomiller is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking of buying...

firstly I would like to say hello everyone,

Newbie here so please excuse my ignorance but I thought that this would be the perfect place for sound advice and help.

I've read so many horror stories with regards buying bit lots of threads are up to 5 years old.
Here is my opportunity and I really would like some impartial advice from anyone who can genuinely help.

As the thread suggests, we are Brits who are thinking of purchasing in the highland beach resort, Candolim.
The apartment that we are looking at currently belongs to family members (Brit) who are thinking of selling due to ill health.

They have "owned" the property for 12 years and say they have done everything right and never had any issues, however when it comes to parting with my "hard earned" I thought I'd try a little investigation. I'm unsure if the laws are different if selling to a family member or not...

Firstly could anyone give me sound up to date advice regarding the possible purchase?

Secondly, if we decided to go ahead, we would like to do EVERYTHING legally as we will not be in a position to retire for the next 5 years and will only use it for the winter months, even after purchase and during retirement, so could anyone recommend the very best solicitor who would do things correctly

And finally, should our family members change their mind and decide not to sell, we have also been offered an apartment direct at Highland beach. Would this be advisable or be any different?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Kind regards

Puerto.
Old Jun 28th 2014, 7:55 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace